利用 The Predictive Index 进行招聘

招聘失败的成本

在去年的一项调查中,750 位招聘经理为其招聘过程的质量集体打了一个 C-。2017 年,该团队负责招聘了 81,000 多名新员工。招聘决策往往是我们组织做出的最重要的决策。为什么良好的招聘很重要?

这对大多数经理和招聘人员来说都不是什么新鲜事研究显示,46% 的新员工在压力下被终止休假或在入职的前 18 个月便受到严重的纪律处分,收到差评?**失败的招聘造成我们的组织人员流动频繁,影响到每一个人:

  • 对员工不利:招聘那些不合适的人员会毫无必要地动摇其信心。
  • 对管理人员不利:管理不合格的员工令人筋疲力尽,而且使我们对重新招聘顾虑重重。
  • 影响您的团队:力有不逮的同事有损士气和工作效率。
  • 损耗人力资源:辞退和重新招聘员工会消耗精力和资源。
  • 欺骗组织:不合格的员工会令您的公司承受工作效率的损失,为错误付出高昂的代价—更不要提进行员工替换时的招聘、面试和入职的费用了。

成功招聘的障碍

尽管我们的集体记录令人沮丧,但每个人都想出色地完成招聘。是什么让我们的目标 A+ 变成了 C- 的结果?大多数情况下,因为我们看到的是错误的数据,或者更糟糕的是,我们根本没有查看数据。

我们通常依赖于对候选者的主观直觉反应,让认知和社会偏见引导我们的决策,而不是使用经相关科学证明的客观数据来获得工作上的成功。

我们倾向于严重依赖不可靠的信息,例如:

  • 简历流行语
  • 教育与背景
  • GPA
  • 友好参考

虽然这些因素可能允许我们深入了解候选者的过去,但它们无法进一步告诉我们有关候选者加入我们之后取得的未来成果, 因为它们无法可靠地预测绩效。这些信息还给导致我们做出招聘失误的决策的那些偏见以可乘之机。

客观地招聘才是明智的。

摒弃直觉,采用可重复使用的方法您将可以预测招聘的结果,节省您的时间,减少您的忧虑,让招聘越来越好。

  1. 您只需制作每个职位理想候选者的曲线。使用 PI 岗位评估 收集管理人员、关键人员和高绩效人才的信息,精确界定每个岗位的行为和认知需求。这将建立客观基准,更好地预测人员与职位的契合度。
  2. 确定岗位目标后,邀请候选者进行 PI 行为评估 和 PI 认知评估。评估结果将帮助您根据潜在员工与您客观岗位要求的匹配度对其进行排序—轻松筛选出一个简短的列表。使用这些评估还将消除招聘过程中的偏见,为候选者提供公平竞争的环境。
  3. 最后,根据每位候选者的行为模式和岗位目标,定制 PI 面试工具包,使所有面试官保持一致。

我们如何知道该工具行之有效?凭借 60 多年的科学实践、6,500 多位客户、350 多项效度研究以及超过 2700 万次的评估,The Predictive Index 已经证实行为特征和工作绩效是息息相关的。

1

Smarter hiring practices

The cost of a bad hire

In a survey last year, 750 hiring managers gave themselves a collective C- for the quality of their hiring processes. That same group was responsible for hiring over 81,000 new employees in 2017. Yet the decision to hire is often the single most important decision we make in our organizations. Why aren’t we better at it?

This isn’t news to most managers and recruiters. According to studies, 46% of new hires are terminated, leave under pressure, or receive significant disciplinary action and negative reviews within their first 18 months?** Bad hires have created a revolving door in our organizations that impact everyone:

  • It’s bad for employees: Hiring the wrong person can needlessly rattle their confidence.
  • It’s bad for managers: Managing a bad hire is exhausting and makes us skittish about re-hiring.
  • It impacts your team: A struggling peer is traumatic for morale and productivity.
  • It’s draining on HR: Exiting and rehiring employees saps energy and resources.
  • It cheats the organization: Bad hires cost your company in lost hours of productivity and expensive mistakes—not to mention recruitment fees, interviewing, and onboarding a replacement.
1

The barriers to a good hire

Despite our dismal collective track record, everyone wants to make a great hire. So what turns our A+ intent into C- results? Most often it is because we are looking at the wrong data—or worse, looking at no data at all.

Too often we rely on our subjective gut-reactions to candidates—letting cognitive and social biases to guide our decisions—instead of using objective data with a scientifically proven correlation to on-the-job success.

We tend to lean heavily on unreliable information like:

  • Resumé buzzwords
  • Education and pedigree
  • GPA
  • Friendly references

While these factors may give us insights into candidates’ pasts, they tell us a lot less about their future with us— because they cannot reliably predict performance. They also open the door to those biases that sway our decisions toward the wrong hires.

1

Objective hiring is smart hiring.

Move beyond your gut and apply a repeatable methodology, and you will create predictability in your hiring that will save you time and angst and result in consistently better hires.

  1. Start simply, by crafting a profile of the ideal candidate for each job. Use the PI Job Assessment to collect input from managers, key stakeholders, and high performers to define the precise behavioral and cognitive needs for each position. This will establish an objective baseline to better predict person-job fit.
  2. Once you have defined the job target, invite your candidates to take the PI Behavioral Assessment and PI Cognitive Assessment. The results will help you sort potential hires by how well they match your objective job requirements—easily winnowing down to a short list. Using these assessments will also level the candidate playing field, removing bias from the hiring process.
  3. Finally, get all your interviewers on the same page by customizing a PI Interview Kit based on each candidate’s behavioral pattern and the job target.

How do we know it works? With more than 60 years of science, 6,500+ clients, more than 350 validity studies, and more than 27 million assessments under our belts, The Predictive Index has demonstrated countless correlations between behavioral traits and on-the-job performance.

Set a job target

How can you evaluate people for a job before you've diagnosed what the job truly calls for?